• Rogers High School

    COURSE PROFILE for RESOURCE

    Academic Year – 2012-2013

    DEPARTMENTMEMBERS:

    •       JoAnne Ritchie – Department Leader (joanneritchie@newportrischools.org)
    •        Jamie Butterworth (jamiebutterworth@newportrischools.org)
    •        Kacie Gallo (BSP) (kaciegallo@newportrischools.org)
    •        Tracey Hackley (traceyhackley@newportrischools.org)
    •        William Kimes (williamkimes@newportrischools.org)
    •        Lynne Torrey  (lynnetorrey@newportrischools.org)
    •        Marybeth Vierra  (marybethvierra@newportrischools.org)

    DESCRIPTION:  This class is designed to support the student with an Individualized Education Planand is aligned to his/her specific IEP goals. Progress monitoring and academic support are key components to this course.

    OBJECTIVES:  The student will be able to:

    •         recognize appropriate academic strategies and skills
    •         apply the appropriate strategies and skills to all general education content areas
    •         work with his/her resource teacher to assure the IEP goals are met and that utilized accommodations and modifications are effective.

    STUDENT REQUIREMENTS:

    •        Students are expected to bring assignments from their academic classes. 
    •         Class participation, attendance, and cooperation are necessary for success.
    •         Students are expected to be prepared for class by arriving with agenda book, writing utensils, and materials needed for assignments.

    GRADING POLICY:  Students receive a daily grade based on a rubric and will receive a Pass or Fail grade  quarterly.

    CLASSROOM RULES: All applicable RHS rules and teacher specified rules will apply.

     
    TIME AVAILABLE FOR CONFERENCES, TUTORING, EXTRA HELP: Specific times and locations may be obtained from the individual teacher.  Students and parents are welcome to email the teacher or contact the guidance office at 401-847-6235.